Pentecost and the Gifts of the Holy Spirit

May 10, 2024

In 2014, Pope Francis began a series of catecheses on the seven gifts of the Holy Spirit with these words:

The Spirit himself is “the gift of God” par excellence (cf. Jn 4:10), he is a gift of God, and he in turn communicates various spiritual gifts to those who receive him. The Church identifies seven,a number which symbolically speaks of fullness, completeness; they are those we learn about when we prepare for the Sacrament of Confirmation and which we invoke in the ancient prayer called the “Sequence of the Holy Spirit”. The gifts of the Holy Spirit are: wisdom, understanding, counsel, fortitude, knowledge, piety and fear of the Lord.

Wisdom - General Audience, Wednesday, 9 April 2014 
Understanding - General Audience, Wednesday, 30 April 2014   
Counsel - General Audience, Wednesday, 7 May 2014l
Fortitude - General Audience, Wednesday, 14 May 2014
Knowledge - General Audience, Wednesday, 21 May 2014 
Piety - General Audience, Wednesday, 4 June 2014
Fear of the Lord - General Audience, 11 June 2014